Lesson 14 (45 min)

At the start of the lesson I mention how last week’s assignment was tough. Up until this point my LH had been mainly focus on playing/holding a chord or bass note. However, with the Minuet piece, my LH has to play some eighth notes or even play a different rhythm while my RH was just playing single note staccato. This is definitely challenging and is taking me some time to get my brain to wrap around it.

After playing the usual Hanon slowed down a bit because when I try it at 76bpm on a grand, my fingers don’t adjust quite as fast as I would like it. After which he says we can move on to exercise 3, so that will be this week with hands separate the usual start.

I then play Minuet, but had to slow the tempo down for 1 problematic area, which I think with more repetition I will iron out. This week I will work on finishing the Minuet either hands separate or together depending on time. He shows me a part of the piece where there’s some voicing that I should note and demonstrated it for me.

We then went on to discuss voicing with the seventh chords, so I will be playing the 1st and 5th note of the chords with my LH, and with the RH I will be playing the remaining two notes. He introduces a new piece All the Things You Are. he said this is a could piece to practice figuring out on my own how I want to arrange the chords. He did give me some tips to figure out how I wanted to voice it depending on distance from the treble clef note.

I then play my prescription melody with the chord change a few times, and he gives me some tips to work on this some more. I get the gist of it he says and we will continue the exercise.

For the work in progress, Fly Me to the Moon, we spend the remainder of the time drilling the first 2 bars to get that swing rhythm and accenting better.

Leave a comment